Gantt chart component

This forum is used by users to request and discuss new product features. Please do not use this forum for technical support including bug reports.

Moderator: JIDE Support

Forum rules
Product suggestions only. Please do not use this forum for technical support including bug reports.

Gantt chart component

Postby Walter Laan » Sun Jun 07, 2009 4:27 am

Hi,
we are looking for a Gantt chart component to display and interact (so JFreeChart will not suffice) with Gantt charts. There don't seem to be many options available. I've found the following http://swiftgantt.pcriot.com/en/index.html which pretty much does what we want, but as you can understand we would prefer to use the Jide suite for consistency and high quality.
Walter Laan
 
Posts: 383
Joined: Mon May 01, 2006 12:13 am

Re: Gantt chart component

Postby JIDE Support » Sun Jun 07, 2009 8:49 am

I heard one commercial gantt which at least looks very polished. Link below. I haven't checked out their API so I can't comment on that. You may take a look and see if it is good enough.

http://www.dlsc.com/Java_Gantt_Chart_for_Swing.html

Thanks,
JIDE Software Technical Support Team
JIDE Support
Site Admin
 
Posts: 37219
Joined: Sun Sep 14, 2003 10:49 am

Re: Gantt chart component

Postby Walter Laan » Sun Jun 07, 2009 2:38 pm

Seems very nice indeed, but pricing is not very realistic in our scenario. 3000 euro for development + 7000 runtime license. We are clearly looking for a more lightweight and lower budget solution.
Walter Laan
 
Posts: 383
Joined: Mon May 01, 2006 12:13 am

Re: Gantt chart component

Postby JIDE Support » Mon Jun 08, 2009 9:49 am

I noticed that too. Maybe you can try swiftgantt and see if it is good enough. If it is not enough, maybe we can discuss again and see if there is anything we can play in this area.

Thanks,
JIDE Software Technical Support Team
JIDE Support
Site Admin
 
Posts: 37219
Joined: Sun Sep 14, 2003 10:49 am

Re: Gantt chart component

Postby czerwonka » Mon Feb 01, 2010 1:46 pm

We use the FlexGantt framework.
czerwonka
 
Posts: 224
Joined: Fri Dec 11, 2009 4:09 pm

Re: Gantt chart component

Postby JIDE Support » Mon Feb 01, 2010 1:56 pm

After Walter started this thread, he worked together with JIDE and created JIDE Gantt Chart. It is in beta right now and will be included in JIDE Ultimate Suite. FlexGantt is an excellent product. JIDE Gantt Chart will provide a cheaper alternative with less features and better integration with other JIDE products.

Thanks,
JIDE Software Technical Support Team
JIDE Support
Site Admin
 
Posts: 37219
Joined: Sun Sep 14, 2003 10:49 am

Re: Gantt chart component

Postby hadifakret » Wed Feb 03, 2010 3:21 am

I work in the field of radio communication and I
wonder if it is possible with the Gantt chart, to have multiple tasks running on the same line. For example, I would represent the activity of a radio communication on a single line (one transmit radio for a while, then stops, then resumes ... etc.). Thank you for your reply
hadifakret
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Feb 03, 2010 2:47 am

Re: Gantt chart component

Postby JIDE Support » Wed Feb 03, 2010 8:46 am

Hi Hadi, JIDE Gantt doesn't support multiple tasks on the same row at the moment. There were people brought this issue up so we will take a look and see if we should add this feature. Will keep you updated.

Thanks
JIDE Software Technical Support Team
JIDE Support
Site Admin
 
Posts: 37219
Joined: Sun Sep 14, 2003 10:49 am

Re: Gantt chart component

Postby czerwonka » Wed Feb 03, 2010 8:49 am

That's a pedestrian use case. Not supporting it makes the Gantt, in my opinion, useless.
czerwonka
 
Posts: 224
Joined: Fri Dec 11, 2009 4:09 pm

Re: Gantt chart component

Postby JIDE Support » Wed Feb 03, 2010 9:23 am

My understanding is the standard Gantt chart only supports one task per row (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Gantt_chart). Of course, there are use cases that need multiple tasks per row so we will consider adding this feature but missing it should make gantt chart useless :)

Thanks,
JIDE Software Technical Support Team
JIDE Support
Site Admin
 
Posts: 37219
Joined: Sun Sep 14, 2003 10:49 am

Gantt : Multiple tasks par row

Postby antoinedb » Fri Jun 04, 2010 12:28 am

Hi, We may use the Gantt chart component for our application, but will need the capability to add multiple tasks per row... any news on that feature ?
antoinedb
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Jun 04, 2010 12:15 am

Re: Gantt chart component

Postby JIDE Support » Fri Jun 04, 2010 8:05 am

This feature is there in the latest release. Check out SubEntryGanttEntry which allows you to add sub-entries.

Thanks,
JIDE Software Technical Support Team
JIDE Support
Site Admin
 
Posts: 37219
Joined: Sun Sep 14, 2003 10:49 am

Re: Gantt chart component

Postby Andez » Wed Jul 21, 2010 5:49 am

Is the multiple lines per row feature in a demo anywhere?
Just curious... But might be useful

Cheers,

Andez
Andez
 
Posts: 192
Joined: Thu Jul 15, 2010 8:09 am

Re: Gantt chart component

Postby Walter Laan » Wed Jul 21, 2010 6:57 am

Change GanttChartDemo around line 616 to:
Code: Select all
                        TimeRange range = new TimeRange(start, current);
                        DefaultGanttEntry<Date> entry = new DefaultGanttEntry<Date>(
                                "Task " + n + "." + i, Date.class, new TimeRange(start, current), 0);
                        currentGroup.addChild(entry);
                        int subs = random.nextInt(6);
                        if(subs > 1) {
                            double subRange = (range.maximum() - range.minimum()) / subs;
                            double gap = ((long) subRange) / 10;
                            double subStart = range.minimum();
                            List<GanttEntry<Date>> subEntries = new ArrayList<GanttEntry<Date>>();
                            for(int s = 0; s < subs; s++) {
                                subEntries.add(new DefaultGanttEntry<Date>(
                                        "Task " + n + "." + i + "." + s, Date.class,
                                        new TimeRange((long) subStart, (long) ((subStart = subStart + subRange) - (s != subs -1 ? gap : 0))), 0));
                            }
                            entry.setSubEntries(subEntries);
                        }


Note that enforcing sub entries to not overlap or being moved before an other sub entry is something that you need to implement yourself (for example by ignoring invalid ranges in an overridden DefaultGanttEntry#setRange(T startInstant, T endInstant)).
For GanttChartPane, you would also need to add the appropriate columns to the TreeTableModel yourself.
Walter Laan
 
Posts: 383
Joined: Mon May 01, 2006 12:13 am

Re: Gantt chart component

Postby Andez » Fri Jul 23, 2010 1:38 am

Most excellent.

Thanks Walter
Andez
 
Posts: 192
Joined: Thu Jul 15, 2010 8:09 am


Return to Product Suggestions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 10 guests

cron