Maven source code

This is the forum for JIDE Common Layer which is open sourced at https://github.com/jidesoft/jide-oss. Please note, JIDE technical support doesn't monitor this forum as often as other forums. Please consider subscribe for technical support for JIDE Common Layer so that you can use customer only forum to get a timely response.

Moderator: JIDE Support

Forum rules
Community driven forum for open source JIDE Common Layer. JIDE technical support doesn't monitor this forum as often as other forums. If you only use JIDE Common Layer, please consider subscribing for technical support for JIDE Common Layer so that you can use customer only forum to get a timely response.

Maven source code

Postby fester » Thu Sep 20, 2007 2:38 am

Hi,

it is great we have now the jide common layer in the java.net repository, but could you add the source code jars also?

thank you,

Wim
fester
 
Posts: 23
Joined: Fri Oct 27, 2006 9:31 am

Postby JIDE Support » Thu Sep 20, 2007 7:50 am

Sorry but do you know which command I should run to do it? The instruction at https://maven2-repository.dev.java.net/ didn't mention it.
JIDE Software Technical Support Team
JIDE Support
Site Admin
 
Posts: 37219
Joined: Sun Sep 14, 2003 10:49 am

Postby fester » Thu Sep 20, 2007 8:42 am

You need to bind the maven-source-plugin[1] to the deploy lifecycle goal.

Code: Select all
<build>
<plugins>
<plugin>
   <artifactId>maven-source-plugin</artifactId>
   <executions>
     <execution>
       <phase>deploy</phase>
       <goals>
         <goal>source:jar</goal>
       </goals>
     </execution>
   </executions>
 </plugin>
</plugins>
</build>


[1] http://maven.apache.org/plugins/maven-source-plugin/[/code]
fester
 
Posts: 23
Joined: Fri Oct 27, 2006 9:31 am

Postby JIDE Support » Thu Sep 20, 2007 8:56 am

Thanks but what does this error mean?

[INFO] 'source:jar' was specified in an execution, but not found in the plugin

I guess it should make it part of the existing plugins element, right?

Code: Select all
        <plugins>
            <plugin>
                <groupId>org.apache.maven.plugins</groupId>
                <artifactId>maven-compiler-plugin</artifactId>
                <configuration>
                    <source>1.5</source>
                    <target>1.5</target>
                </configuration>
            </plugin>
            <plugin>
               <artifactId>maven-source-plugin</artifactId>
               <executions>
                 <execution>
                   <phase>deploy</phase>
                   <goals>
                     <goal>source:jar</goal>
                   </goals>
                 </execution>
               </executions>
             </plugin>
        </plugins>
JIDE Software Technical Support Team
JIDE Support
Site Admin
 
Posts: 37219
Joined: Sun Sep 14, 2003 10:49 am

Postby JIDE Support » Thu Sep 20, 2007 9:06 am

Never mind. I think I just need to add

Code: Select all
            <plugin>
              <groupId>org.apache.maven.plugins</groupId>
              <artifactId>maven-source-plugin</artifactId>
            </plugin>


I checked in source code along with 2.1.3.04 release (just for testing purpose). Can you check if it works?

Thanks,
JIDE Software Technical Support Team
JIDE Support
Site Admin
 
Posts: 37219
Joined: Sun Sep 14, 2003 10:49 am

Postby fester » Thu Sep 20, 2007 11:32 pm

It works! Thanks a lot.

One last thing for windows users:

Code: Select all
<dependencies>
    <dependency>
      <groupId>aqua</groupId>
      <artifactId>aqua</artifactId>
      <version>5.0</version>
      <scope>system</scope>
      <systemPath>${basedir}/libs/laf.jar</systemPath>
    </dependency>
  </dependencies>


Can you add <optional>true</optional> because this gives a WARNING in Maven?

regards,

Wim
fester
 
Posts: 23
Joined: Fri Oct 27, 2006 9:31 am

Postby JIDE Support » Fri Sep 21, 2007 8:36 am

I just added it and re-updated the 2.1.3.04 version to have this. I love this repository so that I don't post a request asking someone else to do it for me like before.

Thanks,
JIDE Software Technical Support Team
JIDE Support
Site Admin
 
Posts: 37219
Joined: Sun Sep 14, 2003 10:49 am

Postby fester » Sun Sep 30, 2007 1:54 am

The <optional>true</optional> does not seem to help on Windows, I was hoping it would. I still get

Code: Select all
Validation Errors:
[DEBUG] For dependency Dependency {groupId=aqua, artifactId=aqua, version=5.0, type=jar}: system-scoped dependency must specify an absolute path systemPath.
[DEBUG]


I really don't know the best way to handle this. I will post a question to the maven mailinglist and come back to you.

regards,

Wim
fester
 
Posts: 23
Joined: Fri Oct 27, 2006 9:31 am

Postby fester » Sun Sep 30, 2007 2:02 am

You can follow the discussion here: http://www.nabble.com/How-to-handle-aqu ... 4s177.html
fester
 
Posts: 23
Joined: Fri Oct 27, 2006 9:31 am

Postby sergey.k » Mon Nov 12, 2007 2:40 am

Does anybody know what I can do to make my project using JIDE OSS build successfully on Windows? No matter what I do, I get the "invalid POM" error. I'm using version 2.2.1.
sergey.k
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Sep 07, 2007 6:13 am

Postby JIDE Support » Mon Nov 12, 2007 6:50 am

Can you tell me exactly what you did? I usually get the source code from svn and use maven or ant to build it.

Thanks,
JIDE Software Technical Support Team
JIDE Support
Site Admin
 
Posts: 37219
Joined: Sun Sep 14, 2003 10:49 am

Postby fester » Mon Nov 12, 2007 8:20 am

I also still have that problem. That is why I posted to the maven users list and the maven dev list, but no answers so far :(

What I do as a workaround is removing the aqua.jar dependency from the pom in my local repository, but this is ofcourse a very ugly hack as you should never change the meta-data.

Maybe somebody from jide could try to contact the maven devs on this?

regards,

Wim
fester
 
Posts: 23
Joined: Fri Oct 27, 2006 9:31 am

Postby JIDE Support » Mon Nov 12, 2007 4:35 pm

I see. I guess it works for me because I have aqua.jar under libs folder.

Thanks,
JIDE Software Technical Support Team
JIDE Support
Site Admin
 
Posts: 37219
Joined: Sun Sep 14, 2003 10:49 am

Postby fester » Sun Nov 18, 2007 5:18 am

Finally got a tip on we can have a pom for jide-oss that will work on windows also: http://maven.apache.org/guides/introduc ... files.html

Can you try this and create a new pom where you only declare the aqua.jar dependency for max os?

regards,

Wim
fester
 
Posts: 23
Joined: Fri Oct 27, 2006 9:31 am

Postby JIDE Support » Sun Nov 18, 2007 10:21 pm

I wonder if it will work. We used classes from aqua L&F. So aqua must be a dependency jar as long as you want compile the source code.

Thanks,
JIDE Software Technical Support Team
JIDE Support
Site Admin
 
Posts: 37219
Joined: Sun Sep 14, 2003 10:49 am

Postby fester » Mon Nov 19, 2007 12:24 am

Yes, maybe you will need to tweak things for compilation, but for a windows user that just wants to use the library, it is needed, because jide-oss cannot be used on windows through maven like it is now.
fester
 
Posts: 23
Joined: Fri Oct 27, 2006 9:31 am

Postby JIDE Support » Mon Nov 19, 2007 12:28 am

But I also checked in laf.jar into libs folder. I thought it will solve the compilation problem on windows.

Thanks,
JIDE Software Technical Support Team
JIDE Support
Site Admin
 
Posts: 37219
Joined: Sun Sep 14, 2003 10:49 am

Postby fester » Mon Nov 19, 2007 12:55 am

It is not about compilation, it is using the jide-oss jar in an own project.
fester
 
Posts: 23
Joined: Fri Oct 27, 2006 9:31 am

Postby fester » Wed Nov 21, 2007 12:59 am

This is how the pom.xml should be to work on windows and mac:

Code: Select all
<?xml version="1.0"?><project>
  <modelVersion>4.0.0</modelVersion>
  <groupId>com.jidesoft</groupId>
  <artifactId>jide-oss</artifactId>
  <name>JIDE Common Layer</name>
  <version>2.1.3.04</version>
  <description>JIDE Common Layer (Professional Swing Components)</description>
  <url>https://jide-oss.dev.java.net</url>
  <licenses>
    <license>
      <name>GPL with classpath exception</name>
      <url>http://www.gnu.org/licenses/gpl.txt</url>
      <distribution>repo</distribution>
    </license>
    <license>
      <name>Free commercial license</name>
      <url>http://www.jidesoft.com/purchase/SLA.htm</url>
      <distribution>repo</distribution>
    </license>
  </licenses>
  <scm>
    <connection>https://jide-oss.dev.java.net/svn/jide-oss/trunk</connection>
    <url>https://jide-oss.dev.java.net/svn/jide-oss/trunk</url>
  </scm>
  <build>
    <sourceDirectory>src</sourceDirectory>
    <resources>
      <resource>
        <directory>src</directory>
        <includes>
          <include>**/*.properties</include>
          <include>**/*.gif</include>
          <include>**/*.jpg</include>
          <include>**/*.png</include>
        </includes>
      </resource>
    </resources>
    <plugins>
      <plugin>
        <artifactId>maven-compiler-plugin</artifactId>
        <configuration>
          <source>1.5</source>
          <target>1.5</target>
        </configuration>
      </plugin>
      <plugin>
        <artifactId>maven-source-plugin</artifactId>
      </plugin>
    </plugins>
  </build>
      <profiles>
      <profile>
          <activation>
               <os>
                    <family>mac</family>
                </os>
          </activation>
          <dependencies>
                <dependency>
                    <groupId>aqua</groupId>
                    <artifactId>aqua</artifactId>
                    <version>5.0</version>
                    <scope>system</scope>
                    <systemPath>${basedir}/libs/laf.jar</systemPath>
                </dependency>
            </dependencies>
        </profile>
    </profiles>
  <distributionManagement>
    <repository>
      <id>local-repository</id>
      <url>${m2-repo.java.net.url}</url>
    </repository>
    <status>deployed</status>
  </distributionManagement>
</project>


Notice how the dependency is wrapped in a profile.

regards,

Wim
fester
 
Posts: 23
Joined: Fri Oct 27, 2006 9:31 am

Postby JIDE Support » Wed Nov 21, 2007 2:15 am

Thanks for posting it. I will give it a try and release a version using it.
JIDE Software Technical Support Team
JIDE Support
Site Admin
 
Posts: 37219
Joined: Sun Sep 14, 2003 10:49 am

Postby fester » Sun Nov 25, 2007 12:25 pm

ok, can you post here when you do? I will test it then.
fester
 
Posts: 23
Joined: Fri Oct 27, 2006 9:31 am

Postby JIDE Support » Mon Nov 26, 2007 11:08 am

Have you tried it yourself with the new pom.xml? I am getting this.

Code: Select all
[INFO] ------------------------------------------------------------------------
[INFO] Trace
org.apache.maven.reactor.MavenExecutionException: Invalid project file: distribution status must not be specified for a project outside of the repository
        at org.apache.maven.DefaultMaven.getProjects(DefaultMaven.java:365)
        at org.apache.maven.DefaultMaven.doExecute(DefaultMaven.java:278)
        at org.apache.maven.DefaultMaven.execute(DefaultMaven.java:115)
        at org.apache.maven.cli.MavenCli.main(MavenCli.java:256)
        at sun.reflect.NativeMethodAccessorImpl.invoke0(Native Method)
        at sun.reflect.NativeMethodAccessorImpl.invoke(NativeMethodAccessorImpl.java:39)
        at sun.reflect.DelegatingMethodAccessorImpl.invoke(DelegatingMethodAccessorImpl.java:25)
        at java.lang.reflect.Method.invoke(Method.java:585)
        at org.codehaus.classworlds.Launcher.launchEnhanced(Launcher.java:315)
        at org.codehaus.classworlds.Launcher.launch(Launcher.java:255)
        at org.codehaus.classworlds.Launcher.mainWithExitCode(Launcher.java:430)
        at org.codehaus.classworlds.Launcher.main(Launcher.java:375)
Caused by: org.apache.maven.project.ProjectBuildingException: Invalid project file: distribution status must not be specified for a project outside of the repository
        at org.apache.maven.project.DefaultMavenProjectBuilder.buildFromSourceFileInternal(DefaultMavenProjectBuilder.java:430)
        at org.apache.maven.project.DefaultMavenProjectBuilder.build(DefaultMavenProjectBuilder.java:192)
        at org.apache.maven.DefaultMaven.getProject(DefaultMaven.java:515)
        at org.apache.maven.DefaultMaven.collectProjects(DefaultMaven.java:447)
        at org.apache.maven.DefaultMaven.getProjects(DefaultMaven.java:351)
        ... 11 more
JIDE Software Technical Support Team
JIDE Support
Site Admin
 
Posts: 37219
Joined: Sun Sep 14, 2003 10:49 am

Postby fester » Mon Nov 26, 2007 1:11 pm

You will probably need to remove the:
Code: Select all
<status>deployed</status>



from the distributionManagement section in the pom.xml

regards,

Wim
fester
 
Posts: 23
Joined: Fri Oct 27, 2006 9:31 am

Postby JIDE Support » Mon Nov 26, 2007 1:43 pm

Great. It seems working now. I put 2.2.1.04 on maven repository. Let me know if it works.

Thanks,
JIDE Software Technical Support Team
JIDE Support
Site Admin
 
Posts: 37219
Joined: Sun Sep 14, 2003 10:49 am

Postby fester » Mon Nov 26, 2007 1:52 pm

Works like a charm! No more warnings or error about the dependency.

One other thing, on the main page of the website (https://jide-oss.dev.java.net/) you mention the repository which you need to add, but it would be very convenient to also put the groupId and artifactId that people need to use there. It would be this currently ofcourse:
Code: Select all
      <dependency>
         <groupId>com.jidesoft</groupId>
         <artifactId>jide-oss</artifactId>
         <version>2.2.1.04</version>
      </dependency>


regards,

Wim
fester
 
Posts: 23
Joined: Fri Oct 27, 2006 9:31 am

Next

Return to JIDE Common Layer Open Source Project Discussion (Community Driven)

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 62 guests