JideSplitButton doesn't appear as pressed

This is the forum for JIDE Common Layer which is open sourced at https://github.com/jidesoft/jide-oss. Please note, JIDE technical support doesn't monitor this forum as often as other forums. Please consider subscribe for technical support for JIDE Common Layer so that you can use customer only forum to get a timely response.

Moderator: JIDE Support

Forum rules
Community driven forum for open source JIDE Common Layer. JIDE technical support doesn't monitor this forum as often as other forums. If you only use JIDE Common Layer, please consider subscribing for technical support for JIDE Common Layer so that you can use customer only forum to get a timely response.

JideSplitButton doesn't appear as pressed

Postby robpas » Thu May 26, 2011 8:14 am

When I have a JideSplitButton with alwaysDropdown == true and I press it to see the menu, the button doesn't show a pressed but rather a rollover state. This wasn't the behaviour with older releases (I used 2.7.7 before).
I traced the change down to revision 1331 of BasicJideSplitButtonUI with the SVN-Comment "Common,B,BasicJideSplitButtonUI,Fixed so that the vertical line will not be painted while selecting the button if JideSplitButton#isAlwaysDropDown() returns true,,no". When I revert this changes, everything works as I expect. I mean, the intention of not showing the vertical line in this case is good, but not showing the button as pressed at all is not a good solution for me.

I'm using the Xerto-Style (if it's relevant).
robpas
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Oct 10, 2009 7:57 am

Re: JideSplitButton doesn't appear as pressed

Postby JIDE Support » Thu May 26, 2011 8:24 am

Thanks for pointing out and track down the issue. We will try to fix it in the next release.
JIDE Software Technical Support Team
JIDE Support
Site Admin
 
Posts: 37219
Joined: Sun Sep 14, 2003 10:49 am

Re: JideSplitButton doesn't appear as pressed

Postby JIDE Support » Thu Jun 09, 2011 5:38 pm

Just so you know, this is fixed in 3.0.4 just released.

Thanks,
JIDE Software Technical Support Team
JIDE Support
Site Admin
 
Posts: 37219
Joined: Sun Sep 14, 2003 10:49 am

Re: JideSplitButton doesn't appear as pressed

Postby robpas » Thu Jun 09, 2011 11:53 pm

Thanks, that works now.

I also realized something different. When you press the Button, the font style (e.g. bold) is preserved, but the foreground color changes to black. Is there a reason for this?
robpas
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Oct 10, 2009 7:57 am

Re: JideSplitButton doesn't appear as pressed

Postby JIDE Support » Fri Jun 10, 2011 4:04 pm

Please invoke JideSplitButton#setBackgroundOfState() to change the foreground color.

Thanks,
JIDE Software Technical Support Team
JIDE Support
Site Admin
 
Posts: 37219
Joined: Sun Sep 14, 2003 10:49 am

Re: JideSplitButton doesn't appear as pressed

Postby robpas » Sat Jun 11, 2011 2:08 am

Even if I use setForegroundOfState with all states supported by this method (default, rollover, selected, pressed), the text in pressed state is black. Only the dropdown arrow is drawn in the desired color.
The method setForeground seems to set the color for all states, as I would expect.
robpas
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Oct 10, 2009 7:57 am

Re: JideSplitButton doesn't appear as pressed

Postby JIDE Support » Sat Jun 11, 2011 8:42 am

Yes, please invoke the following code to configure the selection fore ground of JideSplitButton.
Code: Select all
        UIManager.getDefaults().put("JideSplitButton.selectionForeground", yourColor);

Thanks,
JIDE Software Technical Support Team
JIDE Support
Site Admin
 
Posts: 37219
Joined: Sun Sep 14, 2003 10:49 am

Re: JideSplitButton doesn't appear as pressed

Postby robpas » Sun Jun 12, 2011 1:33 am

Well, that works. But that's kind of using a global setting to solve a local problem. I don't want ALL buttons to use a certain color, but just one.
Why doesn't setForeground[OfState] override the setting from UIManager? I think that's the case in other places.
robpas
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Oct 10, 2009 7:57 am

Re: JideSplitButton doesn't appear as pressed

Postby JIDE Support » Sun Jun 12, 2011 7:45 pm

Will make it happen in next regular release.

Thanks,
JIDE Software Technical Support Team
JIDE Support
Site Admin
 
Posts: 37219
Joined: Sun Sep 14, 2003 10:49 am

Re: JideSplitButton doesn't appear as pressed

Postby JIDE Support » Fri Jul 01, 2011 7:13 am

Just so you know, this is fixed in 3.1.0 just released.

Thanks,
JIDE Software Technical Support Team
JIDE Support
Site Admin
 
Posts: 37219
Joined: Sun Sep 14, 2003 10:49 am

Re: JideSplitButton doesn't appear as pressed

Postby robpas » Sun Jul 03, 2011 2:06 am

Now everything works.
Thank you very much!
robpas
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Oct 10, 2009 7:57 am


Return to JIDE Common Layer Open Source Project Discussion (Community Driven)

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 12 guests

cron